## BREAKTHROUGH SCIENCE SOCIETY



## All India Committee

8A Creek Lane, Kolkata 700014, WB, INDIA Tel: 8902388578, 9433369069, 9477514644

E-mail: breakthrough@ieee.org Web: www.breakthrough-india.org

Registration No. S/86180 of 1996-97 under the West Bengal Societies Registration Act, 1961

A Voluntary Organization Committed to the Cause of Science, Culture and Scientific Outlook

Date: 10-12-2020

## Press statement

## Applauding the praiseworthy and inspiringly brave stand of Dr. Varinder Pal Singh who, as a mark of support to the ongoing farmers' protests, refused to accept a meritorious Government award

Breakthrough Science Society congratulates agricultural scientist, Dr Varinder Pal Singh, Principal Soil Chemist at Punjab Agriculture University, Ludhiana, who refused to accept the Golden Jubilee Award, instituted by Association of Chemicals and Fertilizers, as well as gold medal for his contribution to the field of plant nutrition, from the Union Minister for Chemicals and Fertilizers, Mr D V Sadananda Gowda in a function held in Delhi. He has done this to register his solidarity with the farmers agitating against the three Farm Acts which were enacted in an undemocratic manner without consultations with the farmers and will have far-reaching consequences not only for the farmers but for the entire people of the country and seriously undermine the food security of the nation.

When well meaning people of this country have resolved to stand united with the agitating farmers, who are waging a heroic 'life and death' struggle to get these three Farm Acts repealed, it is a highly courageous and symbolic statement that Dr Singh, as one of the leading scientists in India, has made in declining this recognition of his merit. The scientific and intellectual community in the country should rally as one behind his conscientious decision.

Breakthrough Science Society firmly stands with Dr Varinder Pal Singh in voicing support to the farmers' legitimate struggle, on behalf of the scientific community.

Prof. Dhrubajyoti Mukhopadhyay President

D. Mukhofadhyay

Prof. Soumitro Banerjee Secretary